2016 IN RETROSPECTION (MY THREESIXTYGH JOURNEY)


It’s left with some few days till the world draws the curtains down on 2016 and welcome the much anticipated 2017. This is a time rife with introspections and retrospections. I believe by now you’re also reflecting on the year and analyzing whether it was good or bad for you, whether you’ve been able to accomplish all the goals on your to-do-list as far as 2016 is concerned or whether your 2016 resolution was just a farce or it came to reality.

I remember vividly on 1st January 2016 many people couched their new year resolutions. Social media was awash with resolutions such as “2016, My Year of Prosperity, My year of Open Doors, My year of Breakthrough, My year of success” etc.  Personally, I had no resolution for the year 2016 for no apparent reason. I saw 2016 just like any other year where life still goes on as usual. I just prayed for good health and long life for my parents and I always prayed for God to order my steps and guide my thoughts. I wouldn’t say my thoughts were always subjugated to God’s guidance because there were times when my thoughts would go places that it shouldn’t go all in the name of fleshly desires. Lol. On the other hand, I can confidently say that my steps were ordered by God and I believe by the time you finish reading this post, you’d agree with me.

I started my blog in October 2015 and my aim was to express my views on topical issues making waves in Ghana and critique some mishaps. As months passed by, I started attending programs and doing write ups on them.

ahaspora
Some panelists during the AHA’SPORA vs DIASPORA DISCUSSIONS

On Tuesday 19th April 2016, my efforts paid off. I attended a program at the British Council Ghana dubbed AHA’SPORA  vs. DIASPORA DISCUSSIONS.  Notable amongst the issues discussed was MIGRATION and why many Africans like to travel to developed countries to seek greener pastures. Even though it was an open forum, I didn’t get the chance to express my thoughts on this issue. My thoughts continued to gnaw at my conscience and when I couldn’t suppress it any longer, I resorted to my blog to let it out. After publishing my opinion, I sent it to the organizers of the event and I was offered an opportunity to work as an event correspondent for threesixtyGH.

As I sit back and reminisce, I can only imagine what would have happened if I hadn’t attended this event. What would have happened if I hadn’t expressed my thoughts on the issue discussed? What would have happened if I hadn’t sent my work to the organizers of the event?

They say opportunity comes but only once and in my case, this statement is valid. Here was I with the intention of just participating in a discussion and ended up getting a part-time job out of it. Even though I agree opportunity comes but only ones, it sometimes comes half-baked. It’s up to you to find a way of making it into a fully baked edible product.

me
Why was i even beaming with smiles?

After basking in the joy of finally getting a part time job, it was now time for serious business. I was required to cover the 2nd edition of TEDxAccra2016  on Saturday 23rd April 2016. It was a daunting task for me because it’s one of the great events that attracts about  1500 of Africa’s most curious and creative, interesting and interested, positive and progressive thinkers to gather under one roof and be inspired by visionaries. In addition to this, it’s one of the events where you’d find in attendance a plethora of high profile speakers who are the crème de la crème in their various endeavors. Due to this, any activity associated with this program is expected to be done with excellence and I was able to meet expectations in terms of reportage and this led to my 2nd break through.

I left TEDxAccra2016 fully motivated and with a renewed mind that Africa can be transformed where everybody realizes their potential and we are the generation to make it happen. This my renewed mind was made possible by kind courtesy of Lucy Quist, Managing Director of Airtel Ghana. I was so enthralled by her talk to the extent that, I wrote an article about her titled LUCY QUIST; A WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE.

blogging-ghana
Some award winners at the Blogging Ghana Awards.

After TEDxAccra, I was privileged to cover BLOGGING GHANA AWARDS and a couple of other events before my next big gig came along. We were approached by Airtel Ghana to cover the 2nd phase of the Corporate Social Responsibility dubbed EVOLVE WITH STEM. Evolve with STEM is Airtel Ghana’s corporate social responsibility initiative, which seeks to demystify the study of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) in basic schools and inspire them to cultivate an insatiable interest in such subjects. I heard they were impressed with how I captured the TEDxAccra event thus wanting me to do same for their event. This gig was my “ahaan” moment when it dawned on me that I was doing something good and my effort is being recognized. Evolve with STEM is one of the programs that aside from being an event correspondent, I was also interested in its progress because I lost interest in Mathematics as a result of the reckless approach used by a teacher in teaching us when I was in basic school.

airtel-stem
Lucy Quist (Left) making a presentation at the launch of the 2nd phase of Evolve with STEM.
fb_img_1471002939847
Me striking a pose with Lucy Quist

I was also fascinated by the visionary intiatives Lucy Quist implemented to make Evolve with STEM a success. This precipitated my 2nd blog about her ( LUCY QUIST; A BEACON OF HOPE)

My threesixty journey has taken me to programs such as AFRICA MOBILE AND ICT EXPOGHANA START-UP AWARDSCOMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDSDIPLOMATIC FAIR2016 AFRICA SUMMIT ON WOMEN AND GIRLS IN TECHNOLOGY among others.

photogrid_1483041607424
Some 360 moments

If there are any lessons 2016 taught me, it is to grab opportunities with alacrity and also be diligent in my work. It would interest you to note that as a result of my work, there’s now a cordial relationship between Airtel Ghana and threesixtyGH.

I don’t know what the coming year has in store for me but i’m hopeful it would be better than 2016.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “2016 IN RETROSPECTION (MY THREESIXTYGH JOURNEY)

Leave a Reply

